Blogs on Belgrade: City Info With a Personal Touch

Every now and then I like to venture out into the great big WWW and see what others are saying about Belgrade and Serbia. When I say “others” I mean locals, visitors, and ex-pats living here but I’m looking for personal experiences and opinions. First-hand, raw, down to earth stuff. Not a week goes by that I don’t run into an interesting new blog or just a random post and I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to not only start keeping track of them, but that I should be sharing them on this blog. So here’s a little list of my favorites for the time being (in no particular order):

1.) BELGRADED If you decide to Google blogs on anything Belgrade, you’re bound to find at least one post from this blog. “Belgraded” keeps it short, informative, varied and interesting. On tonight’s quest to find out what’s being said about Belgrade, I ran into a post on this blog about three new murals in Belgrade by a renowned artist. I just walked past one of these building yesterday and didn’t notice. Thanks for the heads up!

2.) A Yankee-In-Belgrade – “Belgrade and Serbia seen through the eyes of a long-term ex-pat” is what the blog reads and that just about sums it up. Except for the fact that I love how Bibi (the author of said blog) sees Belgrade. Bibi is an American who has been living in Belgrade for over 30 years, makes delicious looking pies, obviously loves to take walks through the city and takes some awesome pictures while doing so. Updated with pictures almost daily.

3.) Bill’s Blog – Bill Kralovec, a Michigander, is the Secondary Principal at the International School of Belgrade and his wife teaches kindergarten at the school. They’ve travelled quite a lot and lived in a few places, so it’s interesting to hear how they’re getting along in Belgrade. As an educator, Bill also seems eager to learn about the customs and history of his current place of residence. He also has a second blog, Nature in Serbia, where I’ve actually learned a thing or two about what grows round these parts. All in all, I rather like his take on things.

4.) Balkan File – Adam is a British ex-pat living in Belgrade, who claims to have become “addicted to Belgrade” on his first visit. I’ve warned people before that this has been known to happen. This blog is updated almost every day and, much like Bibi’s, gives one a vivid description of life in Belgrade through Adam’s daily pictures and short notes on each. As a matter of fact, it could very well serve as a guide to someone who is planning to or has just moved to Belgrade. I often run into comments here that remind me of exactly what was going through my mind when I moved back here in the 90’s.

5.) Go East With InterRail A young Dutch couple spending the summer of 2009 InterRailing through South Eastern Europe. Not too much on Belgrade as they only stayed a day here in early August and then made their way to Sofia. However, the journey itself is not only interesting to read about but this blog might offer a few pointers for anyone thinking of doing this in the future. I would just suggest making at least a three day stay in Belgrade.

6.) Travelblog.com (> Europe > Serbia > Belgrade) – This may seem like just another big travel blog (and it is global) but what I like about it is that there are new posts from those who have visited Serbia and Belgrade as often as every few days and mostly by different people every time. Just a nice place to see and hear people’s impressions and experiences. Posts are often very descriptive and with pictures.

If you’re new to Belgrade or planning a visit or move to the area, the above list should give you some insight into the life, customs, history and other information to get you started. If you’re a local or have been here for a while, I suggest dropping by these blogs regularly to stay up-to-date or learn something new about your environment. You might run into the odd great idea – perhaps a weekend getaway near by or that mural downtown that you walked by but were too busy with everyday errands to notice. Either way, I warmly recommend that you stop and smell the roses and drop by the above listed blogs. I’ll be doing the same.

5 responses to “Blogs on Belgrade: City Info With a Personal Touch

  1. Hey Sis. I just posted a link to your blog on my blog…I’llbe back for for more reading…

  2. Thanks for the Travelblog link! I love it when people write about cities, but I think Belgrade is the only case where I actually searched for blogs by people living there and subscribed to most of them. It must have something to do with that “addicted to Belgrade” thing.🙂

  3. I agree. Adam really nailed it with that “addicted to Belgrade” term. I tend to say that Belgrade is like 16 cities in one.
    Thanks for being a regular on this blog🙂

  4. Hey Niki,

    Thanks for the plug😀 Glad you enjoy my blog. I’m definitely enjoying yours!

    I must admit, I’m thoroughly impressed with your motiviation to write. Hopefully, I’ll get back into the swing of things at BalkanFile.com once I’ve sorted out the technical stuff this week.

    Keep up the great work.😀

  5. Thank you! What a lovely compliment. Truth be told, I talk too much so the writing helps in sparing my nearest and dearest from having to listen to me all day!

    Hope you make those weekly photos into more of a daily thing. I really enjoy your perspective – brings a little of that random Paul Auster quality that I’ve always felt in Belgrade😉